The town of Krk is the oldest and the largest administrative area on the island of Krk. The history of the city dates back to prehistoric times, while some buildings date to the preancient and ancient times. The layout of the medieval streets reveals something new at every turn. Monuments, towers, viewpoints, stacked seaside cottages with their balconies and taverns. In the town of Krk you will find a cathedral, Roman thermal spa, and many other interesting attractions.
The first mention of the tower and the gate dates back to 1350.
It was mentioned for the first time in 1263.
Frankopanska ul. bb, Krk, Croatia
The town walls of the town of Krk date back to the 1st century BC, and their remains can still be seen today in the foundations of the Volsonis cafe. Over the following centuries, city walls and towers were built, and the last addition dates back to the 15th century. They are still well preserved today.
It was built by Prince Nikola Frankopan in 1407. This is indicated by the inscription and family coat of arms carved on a Roman stele from that century with a depiction of the spouses.
In this place there is a well that served as a source of drinking water and a laundry place where women from Krk came to wash their goods. In the past, Krušija also served as a gathering place.
Quirin, dedicated to the patron of the town of Krk, is a beautiful example of Romanesque sacral architecture in the city of Krk. Today, it is part of the whole cathedral complex. The first information about St. Quirin dates back to 1335, when the people of Krk gave the rent of the island of Plavnik "for the repair of the church of St. Quirin in Krk". It is assumed that it was built in the 12th century. The specialty of the church of St. Quirin is in its two-story and geographical orientation, since its apse is very atypically directed towards the south, probably due to the narrow space on which it was built. The lower church has the title of St. Margarita, martyr from Antioch, while the upper one is dedicated to St. Quirinus, the patron of the town of Krk.
It was built on a larger area at the bottom of the hill on which the town of Krk is located. The first known dated mention of this cathedral can be found in Bishop Ivan's Donation from 1186, and it is possible that this cathedral existed in the early Christian era.
Ul. Alojzija Stepinca, Krk, Croatia
Kamplin, which name comes from the classic Latin campulus or popular Latin campellus, meaning “field”, or a plain training ground or racetrack, is a unique area in the town that has been used for different purposes throughout its history.
Our guides will be waiting you on the main square Vela Placa (meeting point location).
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.
Parcourez Île de Krk par catégorie - billets coupe-file, visites guidées, excursions d'une journée, expériences gastronomiques et bien plus